Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Post by Guest on Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:24 am

Does the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Post by Guest on Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:52 am

For counterspell resolution, NO, the +3 cannot be used. Remember that the rule of counterspelling is to use only the unmodified attack value + attack bonus of the caster and counterspeller if any.

For attacking with a cast spell, YES, it can be used. There is this combo called Ultimate Arc Lightning that makes excellent us of the Book of Power's +3 bonus to attack. And since it does not have a requirement type, the caster can wield a scroll of storms making his Arc Lightning attack that much deadlier. Imagine Tythania Stormbringer casting Arc Lightning with 15 initial attack and 8 ranged damage!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Post by Admin on Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:58 am

during counterspell rolls, no modifiers allowed.

The controllers of the casting and countering sorcerers each make a counterspell roll. The casting sorcerer rolls two six-sided dice and adds its unmodified attack value (including attack bonus, if any) to the result. The countering sorcerer rolls one six-sided die and adds its unmodified attack
value (including attack bonus, if any) +1 to the result. If the countering sorcerer’s result is greater than the casting sorcerer’s result, the counterspell succeeds and the target spell fails. Return the target spell’s element (if any) to its spell card and put the spell card face down on top of its stack. If the counter spell attempt fails, the target spell resolves normally.

also as per sigma side notes:
Note that the modifiers here are applied to the
counterspell roll, and not to the attack value. The
rule of 3 does not apply to counterspell rolls. (p.13)
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Post by Guest on Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:31 am

Thanks guys!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Book of power, can the "optional +3" be used when casting and countering spells?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum