Can a Captor still Counterattack?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:27 pm

The captor can be given
only move actions, unless it tries to eliminate the captive (see below). When moving with its captive, a captor must be in base contact with the captive both before and after the move.

COUNTERATTACK (optional) After this warrior is the target of an unsuccessful close combat attack made by an opposing target figure in its
front arc, it can immediately make a close combat attack against the target. This warrior may use a single special ability which requires a close
combat action (except Charge), but is not given an action token for using Counterattack.

Counterattack is a close combat attack primarily. It's more like a passive ability like Venom or polearm. Can the Captor use it?

If it can, then can he use the close combat action special abilities with it?

xxxxx

As per Sigma:

I would say yes. While captors cannot make close combat actions, it does not require an action to use counterattack (even though you are allowed to use close combat abilities which require them; that's a special case). Captor abilities are not ignored, so having them Counterattack does not violate any of the rules for captors.

avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:14 am

Another thing a captor cannot do is free spin so if an opponent bases him out of his front arc, his counterattack will be useless.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:22 am

Can captors be captured? if yes will it release its captive or get eliminated?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:51 pm

Also take note that a captive cannot be given actions, and its special abilities, speed types, and items are ignored.

This means any modifiers to the defense or special abilities or relic abilities of the captive are not included when attempting to eliminate it.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:11 pm

Kossak wrote:Can captors be captured? if yes will it release its captive or get eliminated?

as per sigma:

The FAQ has an errata on this:

"A captive is freed if its captor is eliminated, captured, or changes its friendly or opposing status."

So if Figure A captures Captor B (who has Captive C captive), Captive C goes free.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:05 am

nice!

one more thing about capturing since we're already in this hehe!

I capture a fig with a spellbook and has call familiar in it and/or form construct.. what happens to the call familiar and/or form construct figures?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:21 am

I'm inclined to think that the call familiar will end since the captive's relics (spell book) is ignored while it is a captive.

The familiar will have to survive until the caster is freed, I guess.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:32 pm

Here is what Sigma said on the matter:

c. no. Once cast (or in the case of Call Familiar, begin their effect), spells effects are independent of the spellbook. It doesn't matter if the spellbook is dropped, removed from the game, picked up by someone else, or whatever. The person wielding the spellbook at the start is the "caster" of the spell for Call Familiar - what happens to the spellbook after that is irrelevant. Until the caster himself is eliminated, he remains the "caster" of the spell.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:56 am

So the Relic Breaker tactic will not work???

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:00 am

nope, relic breaker nor cursed betrayer etc... will not work.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:27 am

So that remove the spell book from the game to end the spell tactic was useless after all...

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:44 am

It's not gud against call familiar and form construct . Against glyphs, enchantments and illusions it's still gud.

To counter against this tactic, just simply drop the spellbook. Then say : "nope, i'm not gonna pick up that soap!!!
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:33 am

It's not gud against call familiar and form construct . Against glyphs, enchantments and illusions it's still gud.

thanks for clearing it up Smile

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Guest on Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:29 am

For form construct, you'll need to just kill either the caster or the construct.

For glyphs, you'll just need to either kill the caster or get it to move out of base contact with the spell element. The Relic Breaker/Cursed Betrayer tactic will be hard to pull off if you're facing glyphs that prevent base contact or the Ward of Light glyph.

For Enchantments/Illusions, just cast Disenchant/Disbelieve. The Relic Breaker/Cursed Betrayer tactic can be a last resort if you don't have these spells or if you can't cast them. Still, you'll have to invest precious points for these relics just for that.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Admin on Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:55 am

Good points!!!

Relic breaker and cursed betrayer cant be "countered" though ;-)
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Can a Captor still Counterattack?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum