Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Admin on Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:40 pm

Giant's Wrath :
Give the wielder a close combat action targeting a single opposing figure. If the attack succeeds, deal 1 damage to every opposing figure within a "3" area of effect of the target after resolving the attack.

I remember in the old days that NON-Optional one's first and then Optional abilities are given second priority.

So a Figure wielding Giant's Wrath cannot use "charge" as it is an "optional" ability. Likewise for weapon master, thunderblow, etc...

Mounted Charge is different though because it is Not OPTIONAL. So does this means that a rider wielding Giant's Wrath can use Mounted charge? (but not use the "3" area effect of the relic since the action is given to the mounted charge?)

xxxxx

AS per Sigma:

The rules allow the rider to "use any single special ability they possess that requires the kind of action given". This is what allows a rider to use abilities like Weapon Master or Thunder Blow (or even Charge!) when using Mounted Charge, even though those abilities require an action.

However, item effects are not Special Abilities; thus, as written you cannot combine a Mounted Charge with an item ability that requires you to "give this warrior a close combat action". Since Giant's Wrath requires this, you could not do Mounted Charge with the item. Since Giant's Wrath is not optional, you thus could not use Mounted Charge with the rider who wields the item.

However, when using Mounted Charge, you choose either the rider or the mount; if you choose the mount to resolve the Mounted Charge, then you only use the Mount's stats and abilities, and the item ability does not apply. However, if you do this, the Mount must make the attack.

xxxxx

Can you just use the +3 attack rating and NOT USE the Giant's Wrath's ability for a Mounted Charge action attacking with the rider?

xxxxx

AS per Sigma:

No; if the rider is attacking, you must use the Giant's Wrath ability (and thus can't use Mounted Charge with the rider at all, since you are required to use the relic ability when giving close combat actions that are assigned to the rider).
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Guest on Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:18 am

so from what I understand no optional ability but mounted charge works. also no sweep tama b?

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Admin on Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:37 pm

notorius wrote:so from what I understand no optional ability but mounted charge works. also no sweep tama b?
You still get to do Mounted Charge but use ONLY the mount's dial for the attack.

However, item effects are not Special Abilities; thus, as written you cannot combine a Mounted Charge with an item ability that requires you to "give this warrior a close combat action". Since Giant's Wrath requires this, you could not do Mounted Charge with the item. Since Giant's Wrath is not optional, you thus could not use Mounted Charge with the rider who wields the item.

However, when using Mounted Charge, you choose either the rider or the mount; if you choose the mount to resolve the Mounted Charge, then you only use the Mount's stats and abilities, and the item ability does not apply. However, if you do this, the Mount must make the attack.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Guest on Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:50 pm

ayt thanks for the clarif man Very Happy

want 2 explore this relic a bit more +3 to atk and +1 def is someting hard to ignore Very Happy

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Admin on Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:34 pm

With the "Un-OPTIONAL" bit it actually also makes it hard to use without surge.
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Guest on Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:52 pm

e u can't turn on charge din d b????

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Admin on Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:26 pm

nope. can't
avatar
Admin
Admin

Posts : 700
Join date : 2013-04-22

View user profile http://mkpinoy.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Giant's Wrath ability is not optional? Mounted Charge can't work?

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum